List of Pamana Heritage and Manoa Youth Awardees

Manoa Youth Awardees Sponsored by the Manoa Foundation

2000 Roan L. Velasco2002 Kristelle Siarza

Honorable Mention: Elizabeth Gladden

2005 Ronadel (Ona) Ronquillo

Special Recognition: Fil-Am teens involved in the Tricklock Theater Co. Manoa Teen Apprentice and Ensemble Performance Project sponsored by the Manoa Cultural Diversity Foundation: Shannon Rogers (writer) and Amanda Machon (actress)

2007 Sarah Allison Rogers

Honorable Mention: Kirsten Bowman, John Patrick Custodio, & Krystal Fournier

2009 Jami Abdullah, Amberle Durano, & Sima Greenfield

2011 Carlo James Aragon

Honorable Mention: Josh Rowden, Ethan Sabay, & Mirinisa Stewart-Tengco

2015 Bianca White

Honorable Mention: Angelica and Gabriela Velez

2017 Miracle McCastle

Honorable Mention: Angelo Egrubay, Mary Hollins, Ashley Leonen, & Franz Soriano

2019 Lester Racca

Pamana Awardees

Sponsored by the Filipino American National Historical Society Rio Grande (FANHS RG)

Personal Achievement

2000 Celia Tomlinson

2002 Raymunda Aguila Van Hoven

2005 Melvic (Bong) de Gracia

2007 Stan Agustin

2009 Dr. Faith Ventura

2011 Jessica Pascual

2017 Perla King (also see Historical Contribution)

Community Service

2000 Sr. Josephine Lantin de Gorostiza, FdCC

2002 Potenciana (Nenette) Boucher

2005 Heddy Long

2007 Jim and Betsy Custodio

2009 Perli Cunanan, Evelio & Florence Sabay,

Myrna Samson

2011 Chuy Martinez

2015 Only Community Service was given this year.

Arts: Jenny DeBouzek & Louie Velasquez

Community Service (Continued)

2015 Humanitarian Aid: Scott Berry, Ong Family (Welliver, Marigene, Francis & Sharmaine), Wally Winter & Veronica Rodriguez Jumalon Veterans & Community Affairs: Dr.

Theodore Jojola & LtCol. Gloria Kauz

2017 Richard Luena, Major (USAF, Ret)

2019 Community Service & Advocacy
Dr. Christopher Gonzaga, Educator Mairi
Nunag, & Atty. Rod Ventura

Cultural Heritage and Historical Contributions

2007 Ligaya White

2009 Cristal Everette

2011 Tessie J. Ordoña Greenfield

2017 Pearl King (also see Personal Achievement)

Educational Contribution

2000 Adelfa Samson

2002 Fras Sabay*

2005 Cora Romillo*

2007 Gigi Carlson

2009 Armeli Quezon

2011 Ester Tambor

2017 Jennylou Pangilinan-Riel

*Given for Cultural Heritage Contribution before the category was started in 2007.

Special Categories

Lifetime Achievement

2005 Dr. Jose Sacramento Martinez

2007 Adélamar (Dely) Alcántara, Ph.D.

2012 Juanita Pascual (given at the 2012 FANHS National Conference)

Special Media Recognition

2009 Mary Ann Orate

Pioneers (2000)

Consuelo (Chol) Aquino, Carmelita Balido, Lynda Berdin, Pedro & Petronila Dagucon, Maxima deLien, Thelma Fournier, Bert Gatan, Fely Lopez, Godofredo Manuel, Divina Padilla, Ernesto Quilban, Gloria Smith, Josephine (Galbiso) Stevens, Teem Suelto, Cris & Emilie Underwood, Gerry & Tessie Villalongja & Consuelo (Chito) Zafra

FANHS RG Pamana Events

(Celebrated almost biennially)

No.	Date	Venue (Albuquerque or Rio Rancho)	Speakers/Guests
9	Oct. 5, 2019 Fil-Am History Month	South Broadway Cultural Center (co-sponsored by the Filipino American Community Council) Afternoon event	
8	Oct. 21, 2017 Fil-Am History Month	Hotel Cascada (former Hotel Radisson) (co-sponsored by the Filipino American Community Council) Afternoon event	Former Rio Rancho Mayor Tom Swisstack
7	Sept. 26, 2015	Hotel Cascada	Representative Jane Powdrell-Culbert
6	Sept. 3, 2011	MCM Elegante	Rio Rancho Mayor Tom Swisstack
5	Aug. 8, 2009	Inn at Rio Rancho (Celebrated during Consulate Outreach)	Deputy Philippine Consul General Daniel Espiritu & Rio Rancho Councilor Michael J. Williams
4	Sept. 22, 2007	MCM Elegante (Celebrated during Consulate Outreach)	Philippine Consul General Mary Jo Bernardo Aragon & Rio Rancho Mayor Michael J. Williams
3	Sept. 17, 2005	MCM Elegante (co-sponsored by FANHS RG, Filipino American Foundation of New Mexico and the National Federation of Filipino American Associations during NAFFAA Regional Conference.	Philippine Deputy Consul General Hellen Barber and National Chair and CEO of NaFFAA, Loida Nicolas Lewis
2	Sept. 21, 2002	Sandia Casino	Executive Director and co- founder of FANHS, Dr. Dorothy Laigo Cordova
1	Nov. 17, 2000	Barcelona Court	Philippine Consul General for the Southern US, Edwin Bael. He flew to Albuquerque to attend the event.

NOTES:

- The Pamana Awards celebration was introduced by Dr. Dely Alcantara, co-founder of FANHS RG to honor Filipinos and/or New Mexicans who have served the Filipino community in New Mexico and/or the Philippines.
- FANHS RG is the 20th chapter of FANHS founded in Sept. 1998. FANHS has 36 chapters as of 2019. Our chapter hosted the National FANHS Conference in 2012 at the Marriott Hotel, attended by members all over the US. In 2013, NO Pamana event was held. We took a break after hosting the National Conference. We gave only one award (Lifetime Achievement to Nita Pascual) which was integrated in the program.
- o All Pamana events have souvenir programs (with write up of the awardees) to continue to document the history of Filipino Americans in New Mexico. Afterall, it is the people that make history.

Compiled by Tessie Greenfield, FANHS RG member, August 2019.